The Bala Lake Railway Trust’s latest acquisition went on public display on 3 May at the Vale of Rheidol Railway’s new museum.
Displayed behind the unique locomotive Fire Queen of 1848 is the directors saloon of 1896. One of a kind, it ran on the four foot gauge Padarn Railway from Gilfach Ddu to Penscoins. For many years the coach was displayed at Penrhyn Castle and with the National Trust wanting to rationalise their collection the BLRT were keen to take on the custodianship to ensure the artefact stayed in Wales. With the help of the VoR who have given it a home for the foreseeable future it future is safe and secure.